Frequently Asked Questions
- How do I find the amount I owe for property taxes?
Visit the Treasurer Parcel Inquiry page for property tax information such as the amount due, payment history, tax bills, coupons, receipts, and more. Email the Treasurer's Office or call 520-509-3555 or toll-free 888-431-1311.
- How can I get a copy of the Property Tax Notice / Coupon or receipt?
Visit the Treasurer Parcel Inquiry page for tax statement / coupon, tax receipts and more.
- When will I receive a bill? What time period does the notice cover?
An annual property tax notice is mailed in September of each year; it is a calendar year tax notice. If you don't receive a tax bill by the end of September, view your tax bill and payment coupon. Please contact the Assessor's office at 520-866-6361 to verify your correct mailing address.
- My mortgage company is supposed to pay my taxes, does the Treasurer send a bill to the mortgage company?
The mortgage company will contact the Treasurer to obtain the information required for processing your tax payment. For "informational purposes only" the county Treasurer shall mail a statement of taxes due on the property to the mortgagor at the mortgagor's last known address.
For verification of payment by the mortgage company, view your tax payment history online. Mortgage companies may apply the payment on the actual due date. Please contact your mortgage company to address any concerns you may have.
- When are property taxes due and when do they become delinquent?
When are property taxes due and when do they become delinquent?
Taxes $100 or less are due in full on October 1st by 5 pm. Taxes will be delinquent after 5 pm on December 31st.
Taxes of more than $100 may be paid in two installments:
- One-half of the amount of taxes is due October 1st by 5 pm. Taxes will be delinquent after 5 pm on November 1st.
- And the remaining one-half is due March 1st by 5 pm. Taxes will be delinquent after 5 pm on May 1st.
Alternatively, you may pay your taxes in full:
- Full-year taxes are due December 31st by 5 pm. Taxes will be delinquent after 5 pm on December 31st. Interest will incur from November 1st.
All taxes bear interest from the time of delinquency at the rate of sixteen percent per year simple until unpaid. A fraction of a month is counted as a whole month, pro-rated at 1.33% per month as of the first day of the month until paid in accordance with ARS § 42-18053. Additional fees may apply. Due dates and times are based on the Treasurer's Florence office hours of operation and observed legal holidays. Satellite offices may be closed. If the delinquency date is a Saturday, Sunday, or other legal holidays, the time of delinquency is 5 pm on the next business day.
Although the Treasurer makes every effort to mail a tax bill to all property owners, Arizona Revised Statutes do not require the Treasurer to do so, it is the responsibility of the property owner to ensure their taxes are paid each year. Tax information is available online. Verify your mailing address by contacting the Assessor's Office.
- Do I have to pay interest if I don't receive a tax bill?
Although the Treasurer makes every effort to mail a tax bill to all property owners, Arizona Revised Statutes do not require the Treasurer to do so. Tax information is available online. It is the responsibility of the property owner to ensure their taxes are paid each year.
Tax statements are mailed in mid-September to the mailing address on record provided by the Pinal County Assessor; A change of address with the post office is only good for a year and is not guaranteed to catch all mail. It is ultimately the responsibility of the property owner to ensure the Assessor has the correct mailing address. Please update your address to ensure the timely delivery of tax-related notices. Addresses can be updated at the Assessor's office, or by submitting a change of address through the Assessor's Website.
All taxes bear interest from the time of delinquency; the interest rate for delinquent taxes is 16% per annum, pro-rated at 1.33% per month as of the first day of the month until paid. A fraction of a month is counted as a whole month. Additional fees may apply.
Due dates and times are based on the Treasurer's main office in Florence's hours of operation and observed legal holidays. Satellite offices may be closed. If the delinquency date is a Saturday, Sunday or other legal holiday, the time of delinquency is 5 pm on the next business day.
- Can I make payment arrangements?
Each tax payer is responsible for paying the taxes due. If you don’t pay the amount due interest will accrue on the unpaid balance. Penalty for late payment is an annual 16% prorated monthly as of the first day of the month in accordance with (§ARS 42-18053).
- Who do I contact regarding the Valuation of the property?
The valuation of the property also plays a key role in calculating property taxes. Each year the Pinal County Assessor mails a Notice of Valuation to all property owners. The valuation is provided for two years and is based on the market sales in your area. If you believe the valuation is incorrect, a period of time is designated to file an appeal. For more information concerning the valuation, ownership, classification or a change of address, contact the Assessor's Office.
- Does the county sell my house if my taxes are delinquent?
A tax lien sale is held every February for delinquent taxes on real property for the prior tax year. This is a tax lien certificate on the parcel only and does not give anyone the right to enter or take possession of the property. At any time beginning three years after the sale of a tax lien the purchaser has a right to foreclose on their tax lien (§ARS 42-18201).
- Can I pay my taxes with a credit card?
Yes, see Payment Options. (Redemption of tax liens are excluded and must be paid with certified funds-cash, Cashier’s Checks and Money Orders).
- Can I use online banking or a bill pay website to pay bills?
If you use online banking or a bill pay website to pay bills it's now faster and easier to pay property taxes. The payment must be scheduled to ensure that it is received in our office by the due date shown on the tax bill to avoid late penalties (process and terms and conditions varies by online banking or bill pay website provider).
- Log into your financial institution's bill pay website
- Search for or enter the company name or payee as Pinal County Treasurer
- Search for the category of Taxes if requested
- Account Number = The parcel number located on your tax bill "No Dashes"
- One parcel number per transaction (create a new payment for each parcel)
- Address Line 1= P O Box 729
- City= Florence
- State= AZ
- Zip Code= 85132
- Enter Payment Amount
- Enter additional information requested by your financial institution
- What is the mailing address?
Pinal County Treasurer
P.O. Box 729
Florence, AZ 85132-0729
- What are your office hours?
- Who do I make my check payable to?
Make checks payable to Pinal County Treasurer and include a payment coupon or parcel number along with payment. (Checks must be drawn on a U.S. Bank in U.S. Funds.)
- Can I wire the funds to pay my taxes?
Yes, please contact the Treasurer's office at 520-866-6425 for the information required.
- How do I buy property for delinquent taxes?
Visit the Pinal County Tax Lien Sale site. From there you can register as a bidder. Refer to the Tax Lien Sale Booklet on the website for information.
- What is a tax lien sale of property?
An online Tax Lien Sale is held for prior years' delinquent taxes to offer a tax lien certificate at public auction. This does not give anyone the right to enter or take possession of the property. At any time beginning three years after the sale of a tax lien the purchaser has a right to foreclose on his/her lien. (ARS:42-18201). Visit the Tax Lien Sale website for more information.
- If I buy a piece of land that is a split portion of another parcel, why does it take so long for me to receive my own parcel number and tax bill?
The Assessor's office is responsible for the split and combinations of parcels and they are required by law to close out their books at a certain time. They are usually working two years in the future.
- Do you have a toll free phone number?
Yes, it is 888-431-1311.
- Why do I get two tax bills?
Real property tax statements are for land. Personal Property tax statements are for mobile homes or businesses. A mobile home is taxed separately from land resulting in two tax bills. To combine these two an Affidavit of Affixture may be filed. For information regarding this matter contact the Pinal County Assessor, 520-866-6365.
- How do I submit a change of address?
Tax statements are mailed in mid-September to the mailing address on record provided by the Pinal County Assessor; a change of address with the post office is only good for one year, and is not guaranteed to catch all mail. Mail returned to our office as undeliverable may prevent further mailings. It is ultimately the responsibility of the property owner to ensure the Assessor has the correct mailing address. Please update your address to ensure the timely delivery of tax-related notices. Addresses can be updated at the Assessor’s office, or by submitting a change of address through the Assessor’s Website.
- How does the ownership change once my parcel is sold?
The ownership records are updated each time a deed is recorded with the Pinal County Recorder's Office. For more information concerning title recordings, visit the website of the Pinal County Recorder's Office or request information at P.O. Box 848, Florence, Arizona 85132. Property transfers occur on a daily basis in large volumes, check the Pinal County Assessor's website for information concerning ownership. Property tax information can be viewed at the Treasurer's office page.
- Why can’t I see an image of my tax payment check?
When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us either to use the information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check transaction.
When we use information from your check to make an electronic funds transfer, funds may be withdrawn from your account as soon as the same day we receive your payment and you will not receive your check back from your financial institution.
- Who do I talk to regarding the taxing authorities or services provided by these entities listed on my tax bill?
The tax statement is comprised of a levy amount set by several taxing authorities. The Treasurer's office does not set tax rates; however, the Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes. Listed below are the taxing authorities in Pinal County.
The State Legislature, through statutes, sets the rates for School Equalization.
The Board of Supervisors sets the tax rates for Pinal County, the Pinal County Library District, the Pinal County Flood Control District, and Fire District Assistance Tax.
The County School Superintendent sets the rate for the Mary C. O'Brien Accommodation School, Un-organized Schools property, and Reserve Fund.
Each city or town, school district, special district, irrigation and drainage district, and Central Arizona Water Conservation District independently sets its own tax rates.
Central Arizona College sets the rate for the Pinal County Community College.
Bond amounts represent amounts previously determined and voted on by area residents.
Please refer questions regarding a tax line item to the taxing authority responsible for that portion of your tax bill. See a list of tax authorities (PDF) or contact the Pinal County Board of Supervisors at P.O. Box 827, Florence, Arizona 85132.
- Who sets the tax rates?
- The State Legislature, through statutes, sets the rates for school equalization.
- The Board of Supervisors sets the tax rates for ONLY Pinal County, Pinal County Library District, Pinal County Flood Control District and Fire District Assistance Tax.
- The Board for each City, Town, School District, Special District, and Central Arizona Water Conservation District independently sets their own levy / rate.
- Central Arizona College sets the tax rate for Pinal County Jr. College.
- Who is Corelogic?
Corelogic is a financial service that does escrow tax payment processing on behalf of many mortgage companies.
- I sold my house so how much of the tax statement am I responsible for?
Partial year tax liabilities are generally determined by the Title Insurance companies at closing. It is between the buyer and seller to assure that taxes for partial years are paid; the Treasurer’s Office does not determine partial year tax liability.
- I have two tax lien holders on my property. Can I pay one lien at a time?
Both liens may be paid separately, however, each lien must be paid in its entirety when paying. The payment must also be made with Certified Funds-cash, Cashier’s Checks and Money Orders).
- What are Certified Funds? Why are they required?
Certified funds are monies that are guaranteed by the bank. This would include cash, Cashier’s Checks and Money Orders. Certified funds are necessary when the tax payment required is for payment of a tax lien. These payments are immediately released to the tax lien holder and need to be guaranteed as fully negotiable funds.
- I just purchased this property. Why am I being told that I am responsible for the full year’s taxes?
In a typical real estate transaction taxes are prorated, and the buyer is given credit for the seller's portion. Review the settlement statement provided by the title company to confirm. The Treasurer's Office is not responsible for determining partial tax obligations between buyer and seller. Be sure the Assessor has your address on file in order to receive a tax bill in September of each year.
- Why do my taxes go up every year?
Tax increases are a result of either increased property valuations, higher tax rates or both.
- What are Tax Area Codes and Tax Authorities?
A tax area code is a four (4) digit code used by the Assessor to designate which tax authority districts a property is located within. A Tax Authority District is a self-governing subdivision of the state created to provide services that are not already provided by another district or jurisdiction. These districts are listed as “Tax Authority” on the property tax bill. These tax authorities include school and city districts, as well as any other taxing district.
- How can I see the rates for all the taxing authorities on my property?
Each parcel is associated with a Tax Area Code. The Tax Area Code for a parcel can be found by completing a look-up at Assessor Parcel Search or Assessor Parcel Viewer. Once a parcel has been located, the Tax Area Code is listed in the description of the property. Click the Tax Area Code value to view rates.
Tax Area Code information-All Property, Real & Personal, is assigned an Area Code by the Pinal County Assessor. The Tax Area Code identifies what taxing jurisdictions may levy against the property. You can find this code on your tax bill or it is also available on the Treasurer Parcel Inquiry Site by completing a Parcel Search. Click the Area Code Rates button under the Main Menu and click on the Tax Area Code viewer. For questions contact the Assessor’s office at 520-866-6361.
- How can I see what the tax levies are for the tax authority districts?
Tax Levies and Rates can be found at the Budget Office.
- What happens when the Assessor’s office enters an adjustment?
When an adjustment is entered, approved, and processed, the Treasurer’s office sends a revised bill for current year only, and a letter showing all corrections. Current tax amounts are visible on parcel inquiry approximately 24 hours after the adjustment process is completed.
- How does the ownership change once my Manufactured Home is sold?
It is the responsibility of the new owner and prior owner to notify the Assessor of the change in ownership once the title has been transferred. For questions contact the Assessor's office at 520-866-6361.
- How do I find out if I qualify for any exemptions?
The Pinal County Assessor is responsible for exemptions.
- Why did I get a post card if my mortgage pays the taxes on my behalf?
For "informational purposes only" the county Treasurer shall mail a statement of taxes due on the property to the mortgagor at the mortgagor's last known address.
The mortgage company or financial service that does escrow tax payment processing will contact the Treasurer to obtain the information required for processing your tax payment. For verification of payment by the mortgage company, view your tax payment history online. Mortgage companies may submit the payment on the actual due date. Please contact your mortgage company to address any concerns you may have.